Your Last Experience Must be a Success

I generally use this phrase when referring to resume’s and job interviews, but it has many implications to everyday life. In this post, I am specifically referring to your work history. The most recent job experience on your resume’ must be a success.

Humans generally learn the fastest when they fail. However, in the sales arena (interviewing), this does not go over well. The interview process is all about what you have accomplished, not what you’ve failed at. I am not saying this is the best way to interview. It is just the way it is. If you try to fight it, you won’t get the job.

In the past, I haven’t always had a successful experience as my most recent job. Recently though, I have come to believe that if your last position was not a success, build one. I’m not saying be less than truthful, but be proactive and find a situation where you were able to contribute. Find someone that needs to your help.

This shows two things. The first one is obvious, you were successful. You now have relevant stories to tell about how you added value to the project you were working on. This could be for a not-for-profit, or even a friend that has a business that you contribute to. Also, sometimes this requirement of always having a success means that you must give away your services for free. The value that you will receive in your next paying position will more than make up for the fact that you worked for free for a short period of time.

The second advantage that you have by going about your career in this method is that it appears that you have initiative. Employers love this! If the potential employer doesn’t like this behavior, then you probably don’t want to work for them.

I am currently on a project that will result in a few possible versions of success. Since I can’t take the risk of having a failure as my last experience, this blog is how I will have a success no matter how the project ends up turning out.

–Don’t Stop

This entry was posted in Business Intelligence, Life, Marketing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment